Setting Patient Permissions

With appropriate permissions, you can grant or revoke visibility to a patient's information. This feature is helpful in limiting the number of patients a user can see, making navigation easier. It can also be useful in limiting visibility to patient data that is intended only for a specific group of users or individual user.

Patient data is visible based on the specific permissions set by your System Administrator.

  • You can only set permissions for one patient at a time.
  • If you deny access to a patient, the denied user or role has no access to the patient or studies belonging to that patient, including new studies conducted for that patient.
  • If you deny access to a role, the users in that role have no access to the patient or studies belonging to that patient.
  • If you deny access to a role, but allow access to a user with the denied role, the user access has precedence over role level access and will be able to see the patient's information.

Note:

  • If you only have access to a patient, but not the patient's studies, only the patient is accessible.
  • If you do not have access to a patient, but you do have access to a patient's studies, both the patient and the study are accessible.

Steps

  1. From the All Patients Worklist, right-click the preferred patient.
  2. Select Set Permissions. The Set Permissions option is only enabled when you select a single patient. The Security dialog box displays.
  3. Do one of the following:

If you want to do this...

Complete these steps...

Grant or revoke access to an individual or an entire group based on role, including an option for Everyone.

  • Start typing to select the appropriate role from the dialog box. Synapse matches the results as you type.
  • Optional: Click Show All to display any roles that should not be restricted.

Note:

  • The Administration, Administration Cardiology, and Settings Only roles are not included in the Everyone setting.
  • The Synapse role that is assigned to you is not available in the list. You cannot deny access based on your assigned role.
    • Example: If your assigned Synapse role is Administrator, the role of Administrator is not available as an option.
  • Using the option to revoke Everyone is not recommended when users' access to a patient's studies can be achieved through management of the Advanced Study Permissions setting (in SWAT). See Using Advanced Study Permissions .

Grant or revoke access to an individual.

  • Place your cursor in the text field below the Users and Roles heading.

Note:

  • Usernames display in alphabetical order. Scroll to or type the last name you want to add.
  • Use this option when there are individuals who are exceptions to the group to which you want to grant or revoke access.
  • You can grant or revoke patient access to as many individuals as necessary, but only one at a time.
  1. Select Allow or Deny.
  2. Click Save and Close if you are finished, or click Save to continue; click Close to close the Security dialog box without saving your changes.

Results

If you have revoked access to a patient, that patient is no longer visible to the role or user.

Related Topics

Setting Worklist Permissions

Setting Study Permissions

Using Advanced Study Permissions