User Settings Overview

You can customize the Synapse user settings to optimize and simplify the use of various Synapse applications.

Note:

In Administrator mode, all user settings fields display to allow administrators to configure settings irrespective of the Synapse client type.

Current Mode

The upper-right corner of the User Settings window displays the mode you are in. The default is User mode for the currently logged in user.

If you have the appropriate permissions, you can change the mode by selecting Administrator from the Current mode drop-down list.

When you are in Administrator mode, the following options display.

Administrator mode icons

On the Security Settings tab only, the Workstation and Workstation Group icons also display.

Administrator mode icons on Security tab

Option

Description

Workstation

Allows you to configure settings at the workstation level.

  • Click to display the Select Workstation dialog box.
  • Use the text box to search for the preferred workstation.
  • Select the preferred workstation and click Go.
  • The selected workstation displays at the top of the User Settings.
  • Note: This option only displays on the Security Settings tab.

Workstation Group

Allows you to configure settings at the workstation group level.

  • Click to display the Select Workstation Group dialog box.
  • Use the text box to search for the preferred workstation group.
  • Select the preferred workstation group and click Go.
  • The selected workstation group displays at the top of the User Settings.
  • Note: This option only displays on the Security Settings tab.

User

Allows you to configure settings at the user level.

  • Click to display the Select User dialog box.
  • Use the text box to search for the preferred user.
  • Select the preferred user and click Go.
  • The selected user displays at the top of the User Settings.

Role

Allows you to configure settings at the role level.

  • Click to display the Select Role dialog box.
  • Use the text box to search for the preferred role.
  • Select the preferred role and click Go.
  • The selected role displays at the top of the User Settings.

Enterprise

Allows you to configure settings for the enterprise.

  • Enterprise is the default setting.
  • If Synapse is currently displaying other settings, click Enterprise to return to enterprise settings. Synapse displays a prompt to confirm.
  • If Synapse is currently displaying the enterprise settings, this option will not perform any action.

Revert

Reverts to the default settings for the parent of the current level.

For Example:

  • If you are configuring settings at the user level, Revert returns the settings for the user to that user's group level settings.
  • If you are configuring settings at the workstation level, Revert returns the settings for the workstation to that workstation's group level settings.